Celebrate 2014 Innovation Development Grant Winners

Meet our 2014 Innovation Development Grant Winners, with a special focus on Nonsurgical Treatment for Type 2 Diabetes.

Nonsurgical Treatment for Type 2 Diabetes Ali Tavakkoli, MD, BWH, Gastrointestinal and General Surgery Type-2 diabetes mellitus (T2DM) affects more than 11% of the US adult population with 35% of US adults having pre-diabetic symptoms- incidence continues to increase in parallel with the obesity epidemic. Current management strategies consist of dietary changes and drugs, including insulin. Management remains suboptimal, with over 50% of patients having HbA1c levels above recommended levels. Roux-en-Y gastric bypass has also been shown to lead to rapid improvement in T2DM and is one of the most commonly performed bariatric procedures in United States. Over 70% of T2DM patients, although overweight or mildly obese, do not meet the NIH criteria for weight loss surgery. As a less invasive implantable alternative to RYGB, a duodeno-jejunal bypass sleeve (DJBS) was developed to prevent contact between food and duodenal mucosa, and has shown promising results in remitting T2DM. The sleeve implant requires endoscopic placements, is associated with a high rate of complications, and requires annual device removal. To overcome these limitations, bariatric surgeon, Ali Tavakkoli, MD and engineer, Jeff Karp, PhD, developed a new agent to reduce glucose levels. Their $50,000 IDG award by Partners HealthCare will be used for testing dose optimization. 2014 Innovation Development Grant Award Winners From L to R: Paolo Bonato, PhD, Spaulding, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation; Gerald Pier, PhD, BWH, Infectious Disease; Peter Caravan, PhD, MGH, Radiology/Martinos Center; Masanori Aikawa, MD, PhD, BWH, Cardiovascular; Yalgin Ozsecen; Ronald Hurley, MD, BWH, Anesthesia; Jay Austen, MD, MGH, Plastic Surgery; Deborah Hung, MD, PhD, MGH, Molecular Biology/Center for Computational and Integrative Biology; David Pepin, PhD; Patrick Purdon, PhD, MGH, Anesthesia; Sylvie Breton, PhD, MGH, Nephrology/Center for Systems Biology; Michael Rohan, PhD, McLean, Imaging Center; Anne Klibanski, MD, CAO, Partners HealthCare; Shaw Warren, MD, MGH, Pediatrics; Patricia Donahoe, MD, MGH, Pediatric Surgery; Chris Coburn, VP, Partners HealthCare, Innovation; Richard Hodin, MD, MGH, General and Gastrointestinal Surgery; Samuel Patz, PhD, BWH, Radiology; Ali Tavakkoli, MD, BWH, Gastrointestinal and General Surgery; German Gonzalez Serrano, PhD; and Raul San Jose Estepar, PhD, BWH, Radiology Other Winners Not Photographed: Joseph Bonventre, MD, PhD, BWH, Renal; Joel Habener, MD, MGH, Endocrine; Anthony Samir, MD, MGH, Radiology; and Yukako Yagi, PhD, MGH, Pathology